Today’s find: Everyday wonders

The blizzard battering the northeast today certainly had a far different look-and-feel in our neck of the woods.

Just beginning to gather strength over the nation’s midsection on Monday morning, the weather system dropped less than an inch of snow on my block. Even so, it had a transformative effect.

There was beauty in the world.

Fleeting, but breathtaking, beauty.

So it was almost like the Psalmist was reading my mind when s/he composed the words of today’s Communion Antiphon:

I will recount all Your wonders

I will rejoice in You and be glad

And sing psalms to Your name, O Most High.

(Psalm 9: 2-3)

I guess songs of praise were still in my heart from the ‘Jesus Is..’ concert I attended at my parish on Saturday night. I’ve already written a bit about that beauty, too. But I didn’t mention one of the evening’s true wonders – when our Associate Pastor, Fr. Mathew Cheruparambil, took to the mic to sing a hymn in his native tongue, Malayalam.

My hapless video managed to capture at least a glimmer of the wonder in the moment:

 

 

The song’s called ‘Idaya Nallidaya Eee Vazhi Vannedumo’ …and the lyrics, according to Fr. Mathew, mean something like this:

Lord of Lifecan you join me on my journey?

Will you nail my pains to the wood of the cross?

Will you be my light and lanternto turn the wounds of my heart inwards

…to give life to my lifeless soul?

Will you prepare me to be Love itselfthat can forgive every hurt?

Lord of Life!

 

Let us pause now…to recall that we are in the presence of the Holy & Merciful One.

 

IHS

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

One thought on “Today’s find: Everyday wonders

  1. patti

    Beautiful. So glad you shared. Thanks!

Blog at WordPress.com.

